Geeks With Blogs

News
About Me:
I am a Female SharePoint Developer (a platinum unicorn). I have been working with SharePoint since I attended the Portal University in 2005. I hold a BA in Computer Science from the University of Missouri - Kansas City. I love playing Rockband, organizing user group meetings, working with code, attending events as a speaker or organizer, and having bizarre conversations about geek things with cool people. If you have any comments or questions fill out the contact form and I will try my best to help.



The Guide of a MOSSLover Becky Isserman's Blog
Something interesting came up at work recently related to people changing there name due to some form of life event.  I never had really researched what would happen if someone changed there name.  I really did not know if there was a GUID in AD, so I spoke with one of our network guys.  He said that there is a GUID tied to every AD account, so when the name is changed in AD the information does not need to be changed only the name and account name.  I wondered if this worked similarly in SharePoint.  It looks like all you need to do is run a profile synchronization and the old username syncs to the new username based on the AD GUID (ADGuid property).  I am not so sure how well this works with WSS 3.0.  If anyone knows add a comment.  I hope this helps someone understand profile imports and syncing with AD in SharePoint. Posted on Wednesday, July 9, 2008 2:34 PM MOSS | Back to top


Comments on this post: AD Profile Synchronization in MOSS: What Happens When Someone's Name Changes?

# re: AD Profile Synchronization in MOSS: What Happens When Someone's Name Changes?
Requesting Gravatar...
Name changes and general profile changes get synced automagically, however if an account gets deleted you'll have to go into the database with WSS to update the GUID by hand to rebind a user to there existing security objects.

With SharePoint you can just do a full import manually through SharedServices and then rebind the users sites (they manage) to the "new" user. The rest should happen automatically if you're using security groups properly.

Command for rebinding a user to a site as owner:
stsadm -o siteowner -url http://servername/personal/username -ownerlogin DOMAIN\username
Left by AlphaAlien on Jul 15, 2008 10:44 AM

Your comment:
 (will show your gravatar)


Copyright © MOSSLover | Powered by: GeeksWithBlogs.net